As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.
Cricut Explore 5 vs Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha
Research-based comparison. Neither machine has been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.
Short answer
Most first-time buyers should get the Explore 5. It's easier to start with, has published print-then-cut limits, and has more independent testing behind it. Pick the CAMEO 5 Alpha if you want to design on a computer without a subscription, need two tools mounted at once, or cut long runs of any brand's vinyl.
Side by side
| Spec | Cricut Explore 5 | Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha |
|---|---|---|
| CraftGearGuide editorial score | 8.5/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Max cut width (matless) | 11.7 in (Cricut Smart Materials) | 12 in class (11.6 in listed for lined material) |
| Max length (matless) | 12 ft (Smart Materials) | 16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length) |
| Max cut area on mat | 11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); about 11.5 x 23.5 in (12 x 24 mat, per Jennifer Maker) | 12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area |
| Print-then-cut max (US Letter) | 9.94 x 7.44 in | Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks) |
| Max material thickness | Not stated by Cricut; about 1.5 mm with the optional Deep Cutting Tool (per Jennifer Maker) | 3 mm |
| Tools | 6 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder | 2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth; USB cable included | USB 2.0 and Bluetooth |
| Subscription | Not required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features | None required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade |
| Size (W x D x H) | 19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in | 22.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in |
| Weight | About 10 lb (per Jennifer Maker; not on Cricut's page) | 11.5 lb |
| Links | Check price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Explore 5 review | Check price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha review |
Where each one wins
- Explore 5: published print-then-cut limits (9.94 x 7.44 in on Letter, larger on Tabloid and A3), free SVG upload in Design Space, cutting from a phone or tablet, and a smaller body (19.8 in wide versus 22.28 in).
- CAMEO 5 Alpha: 3 mm maximum thickness (Cricut doesn't publish one for the Explore 5), a 16 ft maximum length versus 12 ft, two tool mounts versus one, and no subscription pitch in the software.
Software is the real decision
These machines live inside their software. Design Space runs on desktop and mobile, uploads SVG, DXF, PNG and JPG files, and works without a subscription. Cricut Access (paid) unlocks the full image library and some features. Silhouette Studio is a desktop program with no subscription, but the free Basic Edition can't open SVG or PDF files. That needs the paid Designer Edition. If you plan to buy SVG files from design shops, factor that in.
Matless cutting works differently
The Explore 5's 12 ft matless figure applies to Cricut Smart Materials. Silhouette lists a 16 ft maximum length for the CAMEO 5 Alpha without tying it to its own material brand. If you already stock other brands of vinyl, that matters.
Desk space
Explore 5: 19.8 x 7.5 in = 148.5 sq in. CAMEO 5 Alpha: 22.28 x 6.94 in = 154.6 sq in. Almost the same footprint, but the CAMEO is 2.5 in wider, which matters on a narrow shelf.
Calculated from each maker's listed dimensions. Excludes clear space for material feeding.