As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Large-format cutting machines for bigger projects

By Justin · Updated

Once your designs regularly go past 12 inches, a wider machine saves you from tiling and seams. These are the wider consumer machines from Cricut and Silhouette. They take a lot more room than a 12-inch cutter, so measure first.

Ordered by use case, not score: the two 24-inch-class machines first, then the 15-inch CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus. Only the Venture has an editorial score, because we haven't found independent testing of the two Silhouette models yet.

The picks

  1. Fastest claimed speed

    Cricut Venture

    Cricut claims 25.4 in/s and up to 75 ft of repeated cuts, but cutting runs from the desktop app only.

    • 24 in class width
    • 25.4 in/s claimed
    • Up to 75 ft repeats
    • Desktop app only
    CraftGearGuide editorial score7.5/10
  2. 24-inch Silhouette

    Silhouette CAMEO PRO MK-II

    Roll feeder and a 24 x 24 in mat in the box, and it runs from Silhouette Studio.

    • 23.6 in wide
    • Roll feeder included
    • 2 tool mounts
    • USB + Bluetooth

    Not scored yet: Not scored: we found no independent hands-on testing of this model yet.

  3. Middle ground at 15 inches

    Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus

    A lot wider than a 12-inch machine without the footprint of a 24-inch one.

    • 15 in wide
    • 16 ft max length
    • 2 tool mounts
    • USB + Bluetooth

    Not scored yet: Not scored: we found no independent hands-on testing of this model yet.

Space and setup

The Venture is a different class of machine. Cricut lists it at 34.7 lb and 8.81 x 34.82 x 10.4 in, and Jennifer Maker reports Cricut's recommended clear space as 34.8 x 42.5 x 41.3 in. The CAMEO PRO MK-II is 34.49 in wide and 19.84 lb, and Silhouette notes that no stand is included. The CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus is 25.28 in wide and 12.7 lb, closer to a normal desk machine.

Materials and software lock-in

The Venture's long matless cuts use Cricut's 13 in and 25 in Smart Materials. Jennifer Maker points out that ordinary 24 in vinyl rolls don't fit its matless path. Silhouette's machines take lined materials through a roll feeder. The Venture also cuts only from Design Space for desktop, not from the mobile app.

Side by side

Specs side by side. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise.
SpecCricut VentureSilhouette CAMEO PRO MK-IISilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus
CraftGearGuide editorial score7.5/10Not scoredNot scored
Max cut width (matless)About 24 in usable on 25 in Smart Materials (13 in rolls also fit)23.6 in with lined material (roll feeder)Up to 15 in (14.6 in listed operating width)
Max length (matless)12 ft single image; up to 75 ft of repeated imagesUnresolved: 192 in (16 ft) with lined material in the spec table; 60 ft listed as maximum cutting length16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length)
Max cut area on mat23.75 x 27.75 in (24 x 28 mat); 23.75 x 11.75 in (12 x 24 mat), per Jennifer Maker; mats sold separately23.2 x 24 in14.6 x 15 in guaranteed operating area
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)9.94 x 7.44 in (larger sheets supported; see review)Not stated by Silhouette (registration-mark reading supported)Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks)
Max material thicknessNot stated by Cricut3 mm3 mm
Tools7 compatible2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment
ConnectivityBluetooth; USB cables includedUSB 2.0 and BluetoothUSB 2.0 and Bluetooth
SubscriptionNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgradeNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade
Size (W x D x H)34.82 x 8.81 x 10.4 in (Cricut lists 8.81 x 34.82 x 10.4 in)34.49 x 7.68 x 6.69 in25.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in
Weight34.7 lb19.84 lb12.7 lb
LinksCricut Venture reviewCheck price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO PRO MK-II reviewCheck price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus review