As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus review

By Justin · Updated

Research-based review. This model has not been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.

Quick verdict

Not scored yet: Not scored: we found no independent hands-on testing of this model yet.

The CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus is the 15-inch version of the CAMEO 5 Alpha, with the same 3 mm clearance, two tool mounts and 16 ft maximum length. It's a sensible middle ground if 12 inches is too narrow and a 24-inch machine is too big. We haven't scored it because we couldn't find independent hands-on testing.

Buy it if

  • Your decals or signs regularly run 12 to 15 inches wide.
  • You want Silhouette Studio and two tool mounts.
  • A 24-inch machine won't fit your space.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

Max cut width (matless)Up to 15 in (14.6 in listed operating width)
Max length (matless)16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length)
Max cut area on mat14.6 x 15 in guaranteed operating area
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks)
Max material thickness3 mm
Tools2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment
Cutting tool in the boxAutoBlade
Also in the boxCameo Plus cutting mat, Sketch Pens adapter, power adapter
Claimed cut speedUp to 300 mm/s (about 11.8 in/s, calculated)
ConnectivityUSB 2.0 and Bluetooth
Design softwareSilhouette Studio 5
SubscriptionNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade
Size (W x D x H)25.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in
Weight12.7 lb
Warranty (US)Not stated on the product page

Specs checked against Silhouette's product page and help documents on September 25, 2026. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise. Box contents are for the maker's standard machine package; Amazon listings and bundles can include more.

Advantages and limitations

Advantages

  • Up to 15 in wide, with a 14.6 x 15 in guaranteed operating area.
  • 16 ft maximum cutting length and 3 mm thickness, per Silhouette.
  • Two tool mounts with automatic blade adjustment.
  • USB and Bluetooth.

Limitations

  • 25.28 in wide and 12.7 lb.
  • No independent hands-on testing found.
  • SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition.
  • Print-and-cut area not published.

What we could verify

Silhouette's product page lists a guaranteed operating area of 14.6 x 15 in, a 16 ft maximum cutting length, 3 mm maximum material thickness, two plunger tool mounts with automatic blade adjustment, four-point registration marks for print and cut, and USB 2.0 plus Bluetooth. It's 25.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in and 12.7 lb. It comes with a Cameo Plus mat, an AutoBlade and a Sketch Pens adapter.

How much wider than a 12-inch machine?

From 11.6 in (the lined-material width Silhouette lists for the standard Alpha) to 14.6 in is 3 in more usable width, or about 26% more.

Calculated from Silhouette's listed widths: (14.6 - 11.6) / 11.6 = 0.26.

What we couldn't verify

We didn't find an independent hands-on review of the Alpha Plus. The CAMEO 5 Alpha review covers the evidence for the shared platform, including reports on its predecessor. Silhouette also doesn't publish a print-and-cut area for this model.

How it compares

Specs side by side. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise.
SpecSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha PlusSilhouette CAMEO 5 AlphaCricut Venture
CraftGearGuide editorial scoreNot scored7.5/107.5/10
Max cut width (matless)Up to 15 in (14.6 in listed operating width)12 in class (11.6 in listed for lined material)About 24 in usable on 25 in Smart Materials (13 in rolls also fit)
Max length (matless)16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length)16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length)12 ft single image; up to 75 ft of repeated images
Max cut area on mat14.6 x 15 in guaranteed operating area12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area23.75 x 27.75 in (24 x 28 mat); 23.75 x 11.75 in (12 x 24 mat), per Jennifer Maker; mats sold separately
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks)Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks)9.94 x 7.44 in (larger sheets supported; see review)
Max material thickness3 mm3 mmNot stated by Cricut
Tools2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment7 compatible
ConnectivityUSB 2.0 and BluetoothUSB 2.0 and BluetoothBluetooth; USB cables included
SubscriptionNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgradeNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgradeNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features
Size (W x D x H)25.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in22.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in34.82 x 8.81 x 10.4 in (Cricut lists 8.81 x 34.82 x 10.4 in)
Weight12.7 lb11.5 lb34.7 lb
LinksCheck price on AmazonCheck price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha reviewCricut Venture review

Questions

What's the difference between the CAMEO 5 Alpha and Alpha Plus?
Width and size. Silhouette lists a 12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area for the Alpha and 14.6 x 15 in for the Alpha Plus, which also takes a larger Cameo Plus mat. Both list 3 mm thickness, 16 ft maximum length and 300 mm/s maximum speed.
Why isn't this machine scored?
Our rubric needs at least one independent hands-on source for a score. We haven't found one for the Alpha Plus, so we show verified specs instead of guessing.

Bottom line

If 12 inches keeps cramping your designs and you like Silhouette Studio, the Alpha Plus is the logical step. We'll score it once there's independent testing to base a score on.

Check price on Amazon

Sources