As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.
Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha review
Research-based review. This model has not been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.
Quick verdict
The CAMEO 5 Alpha is the strongest 12-inch alternative to Cricut. On paper it's very capable: two tool mounts, 3 mm clearance, a 16 ft maximum cutting length, and USB as well as Bluetooth. You design in Silhouette Studio on a computer, with no subscription, though opening SVG files needs a paid upgrade. Independent testing of this Alpha version is still thin.
Buy it if
- You want to design on a computer without being pushed toward a subscription.
- You cut long vinyl runs and want more than Cricut's 12 ft matless limit.
- You want two tools mounted at once, like a pen and a blade.
Skip it if
- You want to design and cut from a phone.
- You buy SVG files and don't want to pay for Silhouette's Designer Edition.
- You want a machine with years of independent reviews behind it.
Specs
| Max cut width (matless) | 12 in class (11.6 in listed for lined material) |
|---|---|
| Max length (matless) | 16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length) |
| Max cut area on mat | 12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area |
| Print-then-cut max (US Letter) | Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks) |
| Max material thickness | 3 mm |
| Tools | 2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment |
| Cutting tool in the box | AutoBlade (Type B) |
| Also in the box | 12 in Cameo cutting mat (standard tack), Sketch Pens adapter, power adapter |
| Claimed cut speed | Up to 300 mm/s (about 11.8 in/s, calculated) |
| Connectivity | USB 2.0 and Bluetooth |
| Design software | Silhouette Studio 5 (Windows 10+, macOS 13+) |
| Subscription | None required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade |
| Size (W x D x H) | 22.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in |
| Weight | 11.5 lb |
| Warranty (US) | Not stated on the product page |
Advantages and limitations
Advantages
- Two tool mounts with automatic blade adjustment.
- Silhouette lists a 16 ft maximum cutting length and 3 mm maximum thickness.
- USB and Bluetooth.
- Four-point registration marks for print and cut.
- Silhouette Studio needs no subscription to design or cut.
Limitations
- Opening SVG and PDF files needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade.
- Silhouette doesn't publish a print-and-cut area.
- Few independent hands-on reviews of the Alpha version yet.
- Wider than a Cricut Explore 5, at 22.28 in.
Where it beats Cricut on paper
Three specs stand out against the Cricut Explore 5.
- Length: Silhouette lists a 16 ft maximum cutting length. Cricut's 12-inch machines top out at 12 ft, and only with Cricut Smart Materials.
- Thickness: 3 mm maximum material thickness, the same figure Cricut claims for the Maker 5.
- Two tool mounts: a pen and a blade can both be loaded, so draw-then-cut jobs don't stop for a tool swap.
It also has USB 2.0 alongside Bluetooth, and Silhouette's AutoBlade adjusts its own cut depth.
Silhouette Studio: no subscription, one paywall
Silhouette Studio is a desktop program for Windows 10 or later and macOS 13 or later. The CAMEO 5 Alpha needs version 5.0.402 or newer. The free Basic Edition opens Studio files and DXF, and can import JPG and PNG images to trace.
The catch is SVG. Silhouette's support site says the paid Designer Edition is needed to open SVG and PDF files. Since most design marketplaces sell SVGs, many buyers will end up paying for that upgrade. Cricut's Design Space uploads SVG and DXF for free on desktop.
Print and cut
The Alpha moved to four-point registration marks, which Silhouette says improves vertical and horizontal alignment. Silhouette doesn't publish a maximum print-and-cut area, so I can't compare it with Cricut's 9.94 x 7.44 in on a Letter page. I'm not going to estimate one.
Unit check: speed claims
300 mm/s / 25.4 = 11.8 in/s. Cricut's Maker 5 claim is 14.1 in/s. Treat both as manufacturer maximums, not job times. Neither maker describes its test conditions, so the gap on a real design may be larger, smaller or reversed.
Unit conversion only. Not a measured comparison.
What independent testers found
I haven't found an independent hands-on review of the Alpha version detailed enough to rely on. The closest evidence is for its predecessor. Dinosaur Mama's hands-on guide to the CAMEO 5 found it fast and reliable, with improved print-and-cut registration, and noted the optional Electrostatic Mat slipped on textured cardstock.
Older-model reports are worth knowing about, but they may not apply to the Alpha. Kestrel Michaud bought both a Cricut Explore Air 2 and a CAMEO 4. She found the CAMEO 4 much louder and could never get its Bluetooth connection working, and she noted Silhouette mats cost more than Cricut's. Those are single-owner reports on an older machine, not evidence of a pattern.
How it compares
The Explore 5 is the main rival for most buyers. The Maker 5 matches its 3 mm claim. The Alpha Plus is the same idea at 15 inches wide.
| Spec | Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha | Cricut Explore 5 | Cricut Maker 5 | Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CraftGearGuide editorial score | 7.5/10 | 8.5/10 | 8.0/10 | Not scored |
| Max cut width (matless) | 12 in class (11.6 in listed for lined material) | 11.7 in (Cricut Smart Materials) | 12 in (Cricut Smart Materials) | Up to 15 in (14.6 in listed operating width) |
| Max length (matless) | 16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length) | 12 ft (Smart Materials) | 12 ft (Smart Materials) | 16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length) |
| Max cut area on mat | 12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area | 11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); about 11.5 x 23.5 in (12 x 24 mat, per Jennifer Maker) | 11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); 11.5 x 23.75 in (12 x 24 mat) | 14.6 x 15 in guaranteed operating area |
| Print-then-cut max (US Letter) | Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks) | 9.94 x 7.44 in | 9.94 x 7.44 in | Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks) |
| Max material thickness | 3 mm | Not stated by Cricut; about 1.5 mm with the optional Deep Cutting Tool (per Jennifer Maker) | 3 mm (Cricut-approved materials; cut and engrave) | 3 mm |
| Tools | 2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment | 6 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder | 13 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder | 2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment |
| Connectivity | USB 2.0 and Bluetooth | Bluetooth; USB cable included | Bluetooth; USB cable included | USB 2.0 and Bluetooth |
| Subscription | None required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade | Not required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features | Not required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features | None required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade |
| Size (W x D x H) | 22.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in | 19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in | 19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in | 25.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in |
| Weight | 11.5 lb | About 10 lb (per Jennifer Maker; not on Cricut's page) | 10.9 lb | 12.7 lb |
| Links | Check price on Amazon | Check price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Explore 5 review | Check price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Maker 5 review | Check price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus review |
Questions
- What's the difference between the CAMEO 5 and the CAMEO 5 Alpha?
- Silhouette says the Alpha adds a faster sketch mode (up to 400 mm/s), four-point print-and-cut registration instead of three-point, and support for thicker material on the Electrostatic Mat (0.5 mm, up from 0.2 mm).
- Do I need to pay for Silhouette Studio?
- No, the Basic Edition is free and cuts DXF, JPG and PNG files (images are traced). Silhouette's support site says opening SVG and PDF files requires the paid Designer Edition upgrade.
- Is the CAMEO 5 Alpha faster than a Cricut?
- The claims aren't directly comparable. Silhouette lists a 300 mm/s maximum cutting speed (about 11.8 in/s). Cricut lists 14.1 in/s for the Maker 5. Neither says how the figure was measured, and real job time depends on the design, material and settings.
- Does it come with a roll feeder or electrostatic mat?
- Silhouette's in-the-box list for the CAMEO 5 Alpha includes a 12 in standard-tack cutting mat, an AutoBlade (Type B) and a Sketch Pens adapter. The Electrostatic Mat is an accessory, and some retailers sell bundles that include it.
Bottom line
If you'd rather design on a computer without a subscription, and you cut long vinyl runs, the CAMEO 5 Alpha is the Silhouette I'd look at first. Most beginners will still find the Cricut Explore 5 easier to start with, and it has more independent testing behind it.