As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Cricut Explore 5 review

By Justin · Updated

Research-based review. This model has not been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.

Quick verdict

CraftGearGuide editorial score8.5/10

The Explore 5 is the machine I'd point most new crafters to first. It cuts vinyl, iron-on and cardstock at full 12-inch-class width, handles sticker sheets up to Tabloid size, and comes with a scoring tool and mat. It won't cut thick materials like chipboard or wood, and it runs entirely through Cricut's Design Space app.

Buy it if

  • You want one machine for vinyl, iron-on, cards and stickers.
  • Your designs are often wider than 8.5 inches.
  • You like guided, app-based setup and don't mind Cricut's ecosystem.

Check price on AmazonLinks to a bundle with extra materials. Specs here are for the machine.

Specs

Max cut width (matless)11.7 in (Cricut Smart Materials)
Max length (matless)12 ft (Smart Materials)
Max cut area on mat11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); about 11.5 x 23.5 in (12 x 24 mat, per Jennifer Maker)
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)9.94 x 7.44 in
Max material thicknessNot stated by Cricut; about 1.5 mm with the optional Deep Cutting Tool (per Jennifer Maker)
Tools6 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder
Cutting tool in the boxPremium Fine Point Cutting Tool
Also in the boxScoring Tool, dual-sided black marker, 12 x 12 in LightGrip mat, USB cable, power adapter
Claimed cut speedNot stated on the product page
ConnectivityBluetooth; USB cable included
Design softwareCricut Design Space (desktop and mobile)
SubscriptionNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features
Size (W x D x H)19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in
WeightAbout 10 lb (per Jennifer Maker; not on Cricut's page)
Warranty (US)1-year limited

Specs checked against Cricut's product page and help documents on September 25, 2026. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise. Box contents are for the maker's standard machine package; Amazon listings and bundles can include more.

Advantages and limitations

Advantages

  • Up to 11.7 in wide and 12 ft long without a mat, using Cricut Smart Materials.
  • Scoring Tool, a 12 x 12 in mat and a marker come with the machine-only package.
  • Print then cut up to 9.94 x 7.44 in on Letter, and larger on Tabloid or A3.
  • Cricut says it's 30% more compact than the previous generation.
  • Bluetooth plus a USB cable in the box.

Limitations

  • Cricut doesn't publish a maximum material thickness. Thick materials are Maker territory.
  • Six compatible tools, versus 13 for the Maker 5.
  • Long matless cuts need Cricut's own Smart Materials.
  • The old Scoring Stylus doesn't fit, according to Jennifer Maker.
  • Design Space is the weak spot in independent reviews.

What changed in the Explore 5

Cricut launched the Explore 5 alongside the Joy 2 on February 27, 2026. Cricut describes it as 30% more compact than the previous generation, with snap-in pen loading and a simpler guided workflow in Design Space.

The cutting tool changed too. Jennifer Maker notes the blade is now one integrated unit, so you replace the whole tool instead of swapping a blade into a housing. She also reports that the older Scoring Stylus isn't compatible, but that the Explore 5 uses the same machine mats as earlier models. So an upgrade keeps your mats but may strand a few tools.

Cut sizes, explained

Cricut quotes two kinds of limits, and they aren't comparable:

Worked example: shirt designs per 12 ft roll of Smart Iron-On

A typical adult shirt-front design might be 10 x 10 in. With 0.5 in between designs, each uses 10.5 in of roll. 144 in / 10.5 in = 13.7, so about 13 designs from one 12 ft pass.

Calculated estimate. Assumes single-column layout, 0.5 in spacing and no test cuts. It isn't a measured yield.

Cricut's help center lists the Explore series' print-then-cut limit at 9.94 x 7.44 in on US Letter, 12.94 x 7.44 in on Legal, and 15.94 x 9.94 in on Tabloid. That's the same as the Maker series and larger than any Joy machine.

Cricut's Explore 5 instructions recommend an inkjet printer and white or light, simply patterned materials. Dark, high-gloss and holographic sheets can throw off the sensor. You also have to finish the job in one session on one device.

What it won't do

Cricut doesn't list a maximum material thickness for the Explore 5. Jennifer Maker says the optional Deep Cutting Tool handles materials up to about 1.5 mm, like poster board, foam and magnet sheet. That's useful, but it's half of the 3 mm Cricut claims for the Maker 5. There's also no Rotary Blade or Knife Blade support, so unbacked fabric and basswood are out.

What independent testers found

Creative Bloq's Julie Dean used the Explore 5 for a month of cards, decals and gifts. She found it noticeably smaller, faster and quieter than earlier Explores, with crisp cuts on small lettering. Her main complaint was Design Space, which she found weaker than the hardware. She also thought the changes probably don't justify upgrading from an Explore 4. I haven't seen long-term reliability data yet, since the machine has been out for about seven months.

How it compares

The Maker 5 is the step up if you need thick materials. The CAMEO 5 Alpha is the main non-Cricut rival. The Joy Xtra is the smaller option if 8.5 inches is wide enough.

Specs side by side. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise.
SpecCricut Explore 5Cricut Maker 5Silhouette CAMEO 5 AlphaCricut Joy Xtra
CraftGearGuide editorial score8.5/108.0/107.5/108.0/10
Max cut width (matless)11.7 in (Cricut Smart Materials)12 in (Cricut Smart Materials)12 in class (11.6 in listed for lined material)8.5 in (Cricut Smart Materials)
Max length (matless)12 ft (Smart Materials)12 ft (Smart Materials)16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length)4 ft (Smart Materials)
Max cut area on mat11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); about 11.5 x 23.5 in (12 x 24 mat, per Jennifer Maker)11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); 11.5 x 23.75 in (12 x 24 mat)12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area8.2 x 11.7 in
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)9.94 x 7.44 in9.94 x 7.44 inNot stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks)9.94 x 7.44 in
Max material thicknessNot stated by Cricut; about 1.5 mm with the optional Deep Cutting Tool (per Jennifer Maker)3 mm (Cricut-approved materials; cut and engrave)3 mmNot stated by Cricut
Tools6 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder13 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustmentBlade, Foil Transfer Kit, pens and markers (one tool clamp)
ConnectivityBluetooth; USB cable includedBluetooth; USB cable includedUSB 2.0 and BluetoothBluetooth
SubscriptionNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgradeNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features
Size (W x D x H)19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in22.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in12.5 x 6 x 5.5 in
WeightAbout 10 lb (per Jennifer Maker; not on Cricut's page)10.9 lb11.5 lb6 lb
LinksCheck price on AmazonBundle listingCheck price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Maker 5 reviewCheck price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha reviewCheck price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Joy Xtra review

Questions

Do I need a Cricut Access subscription to use the Explore 5?
No. Cricut says a paid Cricut Access subscription unlocks the full content library and some software features, but you can design, upload your own SVG or PNG files and cut without one.
Can the Explore 5 cut without a mat?
Yes, with Cricut Smart Materials, up to 11.7 in wide and 12 ft long. Regular vinyl, cardstock and other materials go on a mat.
Does it work with my old Cricut mats?
Jennifer Maker reports that the Explore 5 uses the same standard machine mats as earlier Cricut machines.
Can I use Design Space without internet?
Partly. Cricut's help center says the desktop and iOS apps can cut saved projects offline, but Print Then Cut needs an internet connection and signing in needs one too.
Does it cut fabric?
Only bonded fabric, using the optional Bonded-Fabric Blade. Cutting unbacked fabric needs the Maker's Rotary Blade.

Bottom line

If you're buying your first cutting machine and want room to grow in vinyl, iron-on, cards and stickers, the Explore 5 is my default pick. Choose the Maker 5 only if you know you'll cut thick materials, and the Joy Xtra only if desk space matters more than width.

Check price on AmazonLinks to a bundle with extra materials. Specs here are for the machine.

Sources