As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Cricut Joy Xtra review

By Justin · Updated

Research-based review. This model has not been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.

Quick verdict

CraftGearGuide editorial score8.0/10

The Joy Xtra is the small Cricut that doesn't feel small for stickers. It uses the same print-then-cut area on a Letter page as the full-size Explore and Maker, and cuts vinyl and iron-on up to 8.5 inches wide. The trade-offs are that width limit, a short list of tools, and no mat in the machine-only box.

Buy it if

  • You mostly make stickers, labels, cards and smaller decals.
  • Your desk can't spare room for a 20-inch-wide machine.
  • You want Letter-size print then cut without a full-size cutter.

Check price on AmazonLinks to a bundle with extra materials. Specs here are for the machine.

Specs

Max cut width (matless)8.5 in (Cricut Smart Materials)
Max length (matless)4 ft (Smart Materials)
Max cut area on mat8.2 x 11.7 in
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)9.94 x 7.44 in
Max material thicknessNot stated by Cricut
ToolsBlade, Foil Transfer Kit, pens and markers (one tool clamp)
Cutting tool in the boxPremium Fine-Point Blade + Housing
Also in the boxCricut Joy Fine Point Pen, Mini Weeder, power adapter, practice materials (no mat listed for the machine-only package)
Claimed cut speed5.65 in/s
ConnectivityBluetooth
Design softwareCricut Design Space (desktop and mobile)
SubscriptionNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features
Size (W x D x H)12.5 x 6 x 5.5 in
Weight6 lb
Warranty (US)1-year limited

Specs checked against Cricut's product page and help documents on September 25, 2026. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise. Box contents are for the maker's standard machine package; Amazon listings and bundles can include more.

Advantages and limitations

Advantages

  • Print then cut up to 9.94 x 7.44 in on Letter, the same as the Explore series.
  • Up to 8.5 in wide and 4 ft long matless, with Smart Materials.
  • Compact: 12.5 x 6 x 5.5 in and 6 lb.
  • Independent testers report very accurate cuts.

Limitations

  • 8.5 in maximum width rules out many shirt and wall designs.
  • Cricut's machine-only box list doesn't include a mat.
  • Only blade, foil and pen tools. No scoring tool support listed.
  • Bluetooth only, and Creative Bloq noted there's no power button.

The sticker case for a small machine

Here's the Joy Xtra's best trick. Cricut's help center lists its print-then-cut limit on US Letter as 9.94 x 7.44 in, the same figure it gives for the full-size Explore and Maker series. On A4 it's 10.62 x 7.2 in. So for sticker sheets on standard paper, you give up nothing by choosing the smaller machine.

You do lose the big-paper options. The Explore and Maker series also support Legal, Tabloid and A3 print then cut. The Joy Xtra lists only A4 and Letter.

Width is the real limit

Cricut lists up to 8.2 x 11.7 in on a mat, and up to 8.5 in x 4 ft matless with Cricut Smart Materials. That's enough for labels, mugs, tumblers, cards, kids' shirts and small decals. It isn't enough for a standard 12 in vinyl roll at full width.

Footprint compared

Joy Xtra: 12.5 x 6 in = 75 sq in of desk. Explore 5: 19.8 x 7.5 in = 148.5 sq in. The Joy Xtra takes about half the desk area.

Calculated from Cricut's listed dimensions. Neither figure includes clear space for material feeding in and out, which both machines need.

What's in the box, and what isn't

Cricut's list for the machine-only Joy Xtra includes the Premium Fine-Point Blade and Housing, a Cricut Joy Fine Point Pen, a Mini Weeder, a power adapter and practice materials. It doesn't list a cutting mat. If you plan to cut regular vinyl, cardstock or sticker paper, budget for a Joy Xtra mat or buy a bundle that includes one.

What independent testers found

Creative Bloq's Cesci Angell tested it on intricate designs from Design Space templates and rated it 8/10. She found the cuts neat and precise, with a complex 5 x 5 cm design finishing in about two minutes. Her complaints: limited material depth (no leather or wood), the 8.5 in width, and no physical power button. That review dates from January 2024, and the hardware hasn't changed since.

How it compares

The Joy 2 is smaller and narrower. The Explore 5 is the step up in width. The Portrait 4 is Silhouette's machine in the same 8.5-inch class.

Specs side by side. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise.
SpecCricut Joy XtraCricut Joy 2Cricut Explore 5Silhouette Portrait 4
CraftGearGuide editorial score8.0/107.0/108.5/107.0/10
Max cut width (matless)8.5 in (Cricut Smart Materials)4.5 in (Cricut Smart Materials)11.7 in (Cricut Smart Materials)8.5 in
Max length (matless)4 ft (Smart Materials)4 ft (Smart Materials)12 ft (Smart Materials)Unresolved: spec table says 4.5 ft with lined material; feature copy says up to 16 ft
Max cut area on mat8.2 x 11.7 in4.2 x 6.2 in (small mat); 4.2 x 11.7 in (large mat)11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); about 11.5 x 23.5 in (12 x 24 mat, per Jennifer Maker)8.5 x 12 in
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)9.94 x 7.44 in9.94 x 3.19 in; Design Space splits a page across two mats9.94 x 7.44 inNot stated by Silhouette
Max material thicknessNot stated by CricutNot stated by CricutNot stated by Cricut; about 1.5 mm with the optional Deep Cutting Tool (per Jennifer Maker)2 mm
ToolsBlade, Foil Transfer Kit, pens and markers (one tool clamp)Cutting blade, Scoring Tool, pens (foil tool sold separately)6 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holderSingle tool holder with automatic tool detection
ConnectivityBluetoothBluetoothBluetooth; USB cable includedUSB 2.0 and Bluetooth
SubscriptionNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade
Size (W x D x H)12.5 x 6 x 5.5 in9.1 x 5.4 x 2.8 in19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in17.32 x 6.42 x 4.88 in
Weight6 lb2.7 lbAbout 10 lb (per Jennifer Maker; not on Cricut's page)4.1 lb (1.85 kg)
LinksCheck price on AmazonBundle listingCheck price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Joy 2 reviewCheck price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Explore 5 reviewCheck price on AmazonSilhouette Portrait 4 review

Questions

Can the Cricut Joy Xtra make full-page stickers?
Nearly. Cricut lists a maximum print-then-cut image of 9.94 x 7.44 in on US Letter and 10.62 x 7.2 in on A4. The rest of the page is reserved for margins and the sensor marks.
Does the Joy Xtra need a mat?
Only for materials that aren't Cricut Smart Materials. Smart Materials cut matless up to 8.5 in wide and 4 ft long. Cricut's list for the machine-only package doesn't include a mat, so check your bundle.
Does the Joy Xtra work with Explore or Maker tools?
Cricut lists the Joy Xtra's own blade and housing, the Foil Transfer Kit and pens and markers as compatible. Don't assume Explore or Maker tools fit.
Is the Joy Xtra good for iron-on T-shirts?
For designs up to 8.5 in wide, yes. That covers many chest and kids' designs. Full-size adult shirt fronts can be wider.

Bottom line

For stickers, labels and small decals in a small space, the Joy Xtra is my pick. It gives you full-size Letter print then cut in about half the footprint. If you'll often cut wider than 8.5 inches, spend up to the Explore 5 instead.

Check price on AmazonLinks to a bundle with extra materials. Specs here are for the machine.

Sources