As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.
Cricut Joy Xtra vs Silhouette Portrait 4
Research-based comparison. Neither machine has been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.
Short answer
For most compact-cutter buyers, the Joy Xtra is the safer choice. It publishes its print-then-cut limits, it's smaller, and it has more independent testing. The Portrait 4 makes sense if you want USB, a mat in the box, and desktop software with no subscription.
Side by side
| Spec | Cricut Joy Xtra | Silhouette Portrait 4 |
|---|---|---|
| CraftGearGuide editorial score | 8.0/10 | 7.0/10 |
| Max cut width (matless) | 8.5 in (Cricut Smart Materials) | 8.5 in |
| Max length (matless) | 4 ft (Smart Materials) | Unresolved: spec table says 4.5 ft with lined material; feature copy says up to 16 ft |
| Max cut area on mat | 8.2 x 11.7 in | 8.5 x 12 in |
| Print-then-cut max (US Letter) | 9.94 x 7.44 in | Not stated by Silhouette |
| Max material thickness | Not stated by Cricut | 2 mm |
| Tools | Blade, Foil Transfer Kit, pens and markers (one tool clamp) | Single tool holder with automatic tool detection |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | USB 2.0 and Bluetooth |
| Subscription | Not required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features | None required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade |
| Size (W x D x H) | 12.5 x 6 x 5.5 in | 17.32 x 6.42 x 4.88 in |
| Weight | 6 lb | 4.1 lb (1.85 kg) |
| Links | Check price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Joy Xtra review | Check price on AmazonSilhouette Portrait 4 review |
Same width, different ecosystems
Both are 8.5-inch-class machines. The Joy Xtra uses Cricut Design Space on desktop or mobile, over Bluetooth. The Portrait 4 uses Silhouette Studio on a computer, over USB or Bluetooth.
Stickers
Cricut publishes the Joy Xtra's print-then-cut limit: 9.94 x 7.44 in on Letter. Silhouette doesn't publish a print-and-cut area for the Portrait 4, though it says registration scanning is improved over earlier models. If sticker sheets are the main job, the Joy Xtra's clearly published limit is easier to plan around.
Length and thickness
The Joy Xtra goes up to 4 ft matless on Smart Materials. The Portrait 4's length is unclear: Silhouette's spec table says 4.5 ft, but its feature copy says up to 16 ft. Silhouette lists a 2 mm maximum thickness for the Portrait 4. Cricut doesn't publish one for the Joy Xtra.
Footprint
Joy Xtra: 12.5 x 6 in = 75 sq in. Portrait 4: 17.32 x 6.42 in = 111.2 sq in. The Joy Xtra needs about a third less desk area.
Calculated from each maker's listed dimensions.