As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Silhouette Portrait 4 review

By Justin · Updated

Research-based review. This model has not been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.

Quick verdict

CraftGearGuide editorial score7.0/10

The Portrait 4 is Silhouette's compact 8.5-inch cutter. It has USB and Bluetooth, comes with a mat, and runs from Silhouette Studio with no subscription. It has one tool holder and a 2 mm limit, and Silhouette's own pages disagree on its maximum cut length.

Buy it if

  • You want a compact cutter that designs on a computer with no subscription.
  • You already use Silhouette Studio or own Silhouette files.
  • You want USB as well as Bluetooth in a small machine.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

Max cut width (matless)8.5 in
Max length (matless)Unresolved: spec table says 4.5 ft with lined material; feature copy says up to 16 ft
Max cut area on mat8.5 x 12 in
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)Not stated by Silhouette
Max material thickness2 mm
ToolsSingle tool holder with automatic tool detection
Cutting tool in the boxAutoBlade 2
Also in the boxCutting mat, blade adjustment tool, pen adapter (roll feeder and electrostatic mat sold separately)
Claimed cut speedNot stated on the product page
ConnectivityUSB 2.0 and Bluetooth
Design softwareSilhouette Studio 4.5.700 or later (Windows 10+, macOS 13+)
SubscriptionNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade
Size (W x D x H)17.32 x 6.42 x 4.88 in
Weight4.1 lb (1.85 kg)
Warranty (US)1 year parts and labor (US and Canada)

Specs checked against Silhouette's product page and help documents on September 25, 2026. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise. Box contents are for the maker's standard machine package; Amazon listings and bundles can include more.

Advantages and limitations

Advantages

  • 8.5 x 12 in cutting area, with a cutting mat in the box.
  • USB 2.0 and Bluetooth.
  • Automatic tool detection with the included AutoBlade 2.
  • 1-year parts-and-labor warranty in the US and Canada, per Silhouette.
  • 4.1 lb and 17.32 in wide.

Limitations

  • 2 mm maximum material thickness.
  • Single tool holder.
  • Silhouette's pages conflict on maximum cut length.
  • Roll feeder and Electrostatic Mat cost extra.
  • SVG import needs the paid Designer Edition.

The basics

Silhouette lists an 8.5 x 12 in cutting area with the included mat, a 2 mm maximum material thickness, and a single tool holder with automatic tool detection. It connects by USB 2.0 or Bluetooth. It needs Silhouette Studio 4.5.700 or later on Windows 10 or later, or macOS 13 or later.

The length conflict

Silhouette's Portrait 4 page lists 8.6 in x 4.5 ft both with a cutting mat and with lined material through the Roll Feeder. The same page also says it can cut up to 16 feet long. Those can't both be the maximum. Until Silhouette clarifies, I treat 4.5 ft as the safe planning figure and don't give the Portrait 4 credit for 16 ft runs.

What 4.5 ft means in practice

4.5 ft is 54 in. At 8 x 8 in decals with 0.5 in spacing, each takes 8.5 in: 54 / 8.5 = 6.4, so 6 decals in one pass. If the 16 ft figure is right, the same layout would fit 22 (192 / 8.5 = 22.6).

Calculated estimate from Silhouette's two conflicting figures. Single column, 0.5 in spacing, no test cut.

One tool at a time

With a single tool holder, drawing and cutting in one job means swapping tools partway through. The 2 mm limit also rules out the thicker materials the CAMEO 5 Alpha lists at 3 mm. Vinyl Cutting Machines, an affiliate review site that says it tested the machine, reports that the single carriage rules out tools like the Rotary Blade, 3 mm Kraft Blade and Punch Tool.

What independent testers found

Hands-on evidence is limited. Vinyl Cutting Machines' review says the Portrait 4 is noticeably quieter than the Portrait 3, that its print-and-cut sensor reads metallic sticker sheets the older model missed, and that it handled vinyl, iron-on and stickers well. I treat that as one reviewer's report, not a consensus.

How it compares

The Cricut Joy Xtra is the direct rival at 8.5 inches. The CAMEO 5 Alpha is the step up to 12 inches and two tools.

Specs side by side. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise.
SpecSilhouette Portrait 4Cricut Joy XtraSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha
CraftGearGuide editorial score7.0/108.0/107.5/10
Max cut width (matless)8.5 in8.5 in (Cricut Smart Materials)12 in class (11.6 in listed for lined material)
Max length (matless)Unresolved: spec table says 4.5 ft with lined material; feature copy says up to 16 ft4 ft (Smart Materials)16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length)
Max cut area on mat8.5 x 12 in8.2 x 11.7 in12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)Not stated by Silhouette9.94 x 7.44 inNot stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks)
Max material thickness2 mmNot stated by Cricut3 mm
ToolsSingle tool holder with automatic tool detectionBlade, Foil Transfer Kit, pens and markers (one tool clamp)2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment
ConnectivityUSB 2.0 and BluetoothBluetoothUSB 2.0 and Bluetooth
SubscriptionNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgradeNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade
Size (W x D x H)17.32 x 6.42 x 4.88 in12.5 x 6 x 5.5 in22.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in
Weight4.1 lb (1.85 kg)6 lb11.5 lb
LinksCheck price on AmazonCheck price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Joy Xtra reviewCheck price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha review

Questions

How long a cut can the Portrait 4 make?
Silhouette's pages disagree. The spec table lists 8.6 in x 4.5 ft with a cutting mat or with lined material through the roll feeder, while the feature text says cut up to 16 feet. We haven't been able to confirm which is correct, so plan around the smaller figure.
Can the Portrait 4 cut without a mat?
Silhouette describes matless cutting with lined materials and sells a Roll Feeder and Electrostatic Mat as optional accessories.
Is the Portrait 4 good for stickers?
It supports Silhouette's print and cut, and Silhouette says registration scanning is improved over earlier models. Silhouette doesn't publish a maximum print-and-cut area.

Bottom line

The Portrait 4 makes sense if you want a small Silhouette and plan to work in Silhouette Studio. For most new buyers who want a compact sticker and decal machine, the Cricut Joy Xtra has clearer published limits and more independent testing.

Check price on Amazon

Sources