As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.
Cricut Maker 5 review
Research-based review. This model has not been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.
Quick verdict
The Maker 5 is Cricut's most capable 12-inch machine. It cuts and engraves approved materials up to 3 mm, works with 13 tools, and is smaller than earlier Makers. It's also very new, so long-term evidence is thin, and most vinyl, iron-on and sticker makers won't use what it adds over the Explore 5.
Buy it if
- You want to cut chipboard, basswood, leather or unbacked fabric.
- You want engraving and debossing in the same machine.
- You'd rather buy once than outgrow an Explore.
Skip it if
- You mainly cut vinyl, iron-on, cards and stickers. The Explore 5 covers that.
- You own a Maker 4 that works. The core cutting speed is the same.
- You rely on the original Scoring Stylus or older pens.
Check price on AmazonLinks to a bundle with extra materials. Specs here are for the machine.
Specs
| Max cut width (matless) | 12 in (Cricut Smart Materials) |
|---|---|
| Max length (matless) | 12 ft (Smart Materials) |
| Max cut area on mat | 11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); 11.5 x 23.75 in (12 x 24 mat) |
| Print-then-cut max (US Letter) | 9.94 x 7.44 in |
| Max material thickness | 3 mm (Cricut-approved materials; cut and engrave) |
| Tools | 13 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder |
| Cutting tool in the box | Premium Fine Point Cutting Tool |
| Also in the box | Scoring Tool, dual-sided black marker, 12 x 12 in LightGrip mat, USB cable, power adapter |
| Claimed cut speed | 14.1 in/s |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth; USB cable included |
| Design software | Cricut Design Space (desktop and mobile) |
| Subscription | Not required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features |
| Size (W x D x H) | 19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in |
| Weight | 10.9 lb |
| Warranty (US) | 1-year limited |
Advantages and limitations
Advantages
- Cuts and engraves approved materials up to 3 mm thick, per Cricut.
- Works with 13 tools, including the Knife Blade, Rotary Blade and Engraving Tool.
- Scoring Tool, a 12 x 12 in mat and a marker come with the machine-only package.
- Up to 12 in wide and 12 ft long matless, using Smart Materials.
- Cricut says it's 30% smaller than earlier Maker machines.
Limitations
- Launched September 4, 2026, so there's no long-term reliability data yet.
- Claimed cut speed of 14.1 in/s matches the Maker 4, per Jennifer Maker.
- Original Scoring Stylus doesn't work, and older pens need adapting.
- Specialty tools and heavy materials are extra costs.
- Heavier than the Explore 5, at 10.9 lb.
What the Maker 5 adds
Cricut released the Maker 5 on September 4, 2026. The headline change is thickness. Cricut says it cuts and engraves approved materials up to 3 mm. Jennifer Maker gives the Maker 4 as 2 mm. Tom's Guide describes the gain as about 25% more clearance.
It's also smaller. Cricut lists 19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in and 10.9 lb, and says the Maker 5 is 30% smaller than earlier Makers. Oddly, those dimensions match what Cricut lists for the Explore 5, so the two machines take up the same desk space.
What didn't change: Jennifer Maker reports the same claimed cut speed as the Maker 4, 14.1 in/s. So an upgrade from a Maker 4 mostly buys you the extra 1 mm, the smaller body and the new pen holder.
Tools: the real reason to buy a Maker
Cricut lists 13 compatible tools. Beyond what the Explore 5 supports, the Maker adds the Knife Blade, Rotary Blade, Engraving Tool, Debossing Tip, Wavy Blade, Perforation Blade and the scoring wheels. Those tools are why Makers handle fabric, chipboard and leather.
Two compatibility notes from Jennifer Maker: the original Scoring Stylus doesn't work with the Maker 5, and older Cricut pens don't fit directly. The machine has one main tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder, so a draw-then-score-then-cut project means swapping tools partway through.
Worked example: is the extra 1 mm relevant to you?
Say a sheet is 3/32 in thick. That's 2.38 mm: over the Maker 4's 2 mm claim but under the Maker 5's 3 mm claim. A 1/16 in sheet (1.59 mm) is within both claims. An 1/8 in sheet (3.18 mm) is over both.
Unit conversion only (1 in = 25.4 mm). Whether a particular material cuts cleanly depends on Cricut's approved material settings, not thickness alone. Check the sheet thickness before you buy.
Print then cut and matless cutting
Print then cut is identical to the Explore series on paper: 9.94 x 7.44 in on US Letter, per Cricut's help center. Matless cutting with Smart Materials goes up to 12 in wide and 12 ft long. On mats, Cricut lists 11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat) and 11.5 x 23.75 in (12 x 24 mat).
What independent testers found
Tom's Guide's Lucy Scotting tested vinyl cutting, iron-on and engraving an aluminum piece at launch. She found it easy to use and quiet, and liked the app's step-by-step guidance. She also noted it doesn't do much a Maker 4 owner can't already do. One engraving went off-position, which she attributed to her own setup mistake. That's a launch-week test, not long-term data.
One conflict to note: Jennifer Maker describes the base package as machine, Cutting Tool, power adapter and USB-C cable, while Cricut's own product page also lists the Scoring Tool, a marker and a 12 x 12 in LightGrip mat. I've used Cricut's list, but check the box contents on the listing you buy from.
How it compares
The Explore 5 is the machine most people should compare first, since it shares the Maker 5's size and print-then-cut limits. The CAMEO 5 Alpha is the Silhouette that also lists 3 mm clearance.
| Spec | Cricut Maker 5 | Cricut Explore 5 | Silhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha |
|---|---|---|---|
| CraftGearGuide editorial score | 8.0/10 | 8.5/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Max cut width (matless) | 12 in (Cricut Smart Materials) | 11.7 in (Cricut Smart Materials) | 12 in class (11.6 in listed for lined material) |
| Max length (matless) | 12 ft (Smart Materials) | 12 ft (Smart Materials) | 16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length) |
| Max cut area on mat | 11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); 11.5 x 23.75 in (12 x 24 mat) | 11.5 x 11.5 in (12 x 12 mat); about 11.5 x 23.5 in (12 x 24 mat, per Jennifer Maker) | 12 x 24 in guaranteed operating area |
| Print-then-cut max (US Letter) | 9.94 x 7.44 in | 9.94 x 7.44 in | Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks) |
| Max material thickness | 3 mm (Cricut-approved materials; cut and engrave) | Not stated by Cricut; about 1.5 mm with the optional Deep Cutting Tool (per Jennifer Maker) | 3 mm |
| Tools | 13 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder | 6 compatible; one tool clamp plus a snap-in pen holder | 2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth; USB cable included | Bluetooth; USB cable included | USB 2.0 and Bluetooth |
| Subscription | Not required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features | Not required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features | None required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade |
| Size (W x D x H) | 19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in | 19.8 x 7.5 x 4.7 in | 22.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in |
| Weight | 10.9 lb | About 10 lb (per Jennifer Maker; not on Cricut's page) | 11.5 lb |
| Links | Check price on AmazonBundle listing | Check price on AmazonBundle listingCricut Explore 5 review | Check price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha review |
Questions
- What's the difference between the Maker 5 and Maker 4?
- Per Cricut and Jennifer Maker: the Maker 5 cuts and engraves up to 3 mm versus 2 mm, it's about 30% more compact, and it adds a snap-in pen holder. Claimed cut speed is the same 14.1 in/s. Cricut still sold the Maker 4 when we checked on September 25, 2026.
- Does the Maker 5 come with the Knife Blade or Rotary Blade?
- No. Cricut lists the Premium Fine Point Cutting Tool and Scoring Tool in the machine-only box. The Knife Blade, Rotary Blade, Engraving Tool and others are sold separately. Bundles vary, so check what a specific bundle includes.
- Can the Maker 5 cut wood?
- Cricut lists balsa wood and says it cuts approved materials up to 3 mm, using the right tool. Check Cricut's material list before buying a specific wood.
- Is the Maker 5 good for stickers?
- Yes, but no better than the Explore 5 on paper. Cricut lists the same print-then-cut limit for both series: 9.94 x 7.44 in on US Letter.
Bottom line
Buy the Maker 5 if thick materials, fabric or engraving are part of your plans. It's the most capable Cricut in the 12-inch class. If your projects are vinyl, iron-on, cards and stickers, save the difference and get the Explore 5.
Check price on AmazonLinks to a bundle with extra materials. Specs here are for the machine.