As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. CraftGearGuide may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Cricut Venture review

By Justin · Updated

Research-based review. This model has not been hands-on tested by CraftGearGuide.

Quick verdict

CraftGearGuide editorial score7.5/10

The Venture is Cricut's wide-format machine for people who cut a lot of large vinyl, iron-on or print-then-cut work. Cricut claims 25.4 in/s and up to 75 ft of repeated cuts. It's also 34.7 lb, needs a lot of floor or table space, cuts only from the desktop app, and its matless path is built around Cricut's own 13 and 25 inch Smart Materials.

Buy it if

  • You regularly cut designs wider than 12 inches.
  • You run repeat jobs, like batches of shirts or signs.
  • You already work in Cricut Design Space on a computer.

Specs

Max cut width (matless)About 24 in usable on 25 in Smart Materials (13 in rolls also fit)
Max length (matless)12 ft single image; up to 75 ft of repeated images
Max cut area on mat23.75 x 27.75 in (24 x 28 mat); 23.75 x 11.75 in (12 x 24 mat), per Jennifer Maker; mats sold separately
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)9.94 x 7.44 in (larger sheets supported; see review)
Max material thicknessNot stated by Cricut
Tools7 compatible
Cutting tool in the boxPerformance Fine-Point Blade
Also in the boxCutoff tool, roll supports, mat support extension, cleaning tools, USB-C and USB-A cables, Smart Vinyl samples
Claimed cut speed25.4 in/s; 400 gf max force
ConnectivityBluetooth; USB cables included
Design softwareCricut Design Space for desktop (cutting is desktop-only)
SubscriptionNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some features
Size (W x D x H)34.82 x 8.81 x 10.4 in (Cricut lists 8.81 x 34.82 x 10.4 in)
Weight34.7 lb
Warranty (US)1-year limited

Specs checked against Cricut's product page and help documents on September 25, 2026. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise. Box contents are for the maker's standard machine package; Amazon listings and bundles can include more.

Advantages and limitations

Advantages

  • Claimed 25.4 in/s cutting speed and 400 gf maximum force.
  • Up to 12 ft single images and 75 ft of repeated images on Smart Materials.
  • Print then cut on sheets much larger than Letter.
  • Cutoff tool, roll supports and cleaning tools in the box.

Limitations

  • Cutting works only from Design Space for desktop.
  • 34.7 lb and 34.82 in wide; the docking stand is extra.
  • Matless cutting uses Cricut's 13 in and 25 in Smart Materials.
  • No mats listed in the machine-only box.

What makes the Venture different

The Venture isn't a bigger Explore. Cricut lists a claimed 25.4 in/s cut speed, 400 gf maximum force, a servo motor and ±0.1 mm repetition accuracy. It takes Smart Materials in 13 in and 25 in widths and cuts single images up to 12 ft, or repeated images up to 75 ft.

Jennifer Maker ran a side-by-side timing test: the same design took 2:15 on a Maker 3 and 1:30 on the Venture. That's one design on one day, not a benchmark, but it points the same way as Cricut's claims.

Space, weight and setup

Cricut lists the Venture at 8.81 x 34.82 x 10.4 in and 34.7 lb. Jennifer Maker reports Cricut's recommended clear space as 34.8 x 42.5 x 41.3 in, because the machine tilts and material feeds through. The docking stand, with wheels and catch bins, is sold separately.

How much wider is it, in practice?

A 12 x 24 in mat on an Explore or Maker cuts about 11.5 x 23.75 in: 273 sq in. The Venture's 24 x 28 in mat cuts about 23.75 x 27.75 in: 659 sq in. That's roughly 2.4 times the area per load.

Calculated from Cricut's Maker 5 mat figures and Jennifer Maker's Venture mat figures. Usable area on your material may be smaller.

The software and materials catch

Cricut calls the Venture's Design Space desktop-only. You can design on a phone, but you have to cut from the Mac or Windows app. Its matless path is built for Cricut's 13 in and 25 in Smart Materials. Jennifer Maker points out that standard 24 in vinyl rolls won't feed matless.

This is where the Venture opens up new work. Cricut's help center lists support for large sheets, including 12 x 18, 13 x 19 and A2 paper, up to 26.94 x 22.94 in. Cricut's product page says up to 24 x 28 in. The two pages frame it differently, so check the help center for your paper size. Either way, you'll need a printer that handles those sheets.

Evidence and caveats

Jennifer Maker's review is the most detailed hands-on account we found. She says she bought the machine at a discount and isn't sponsored by Cricut. Her main complaints match ours: the cost, the 25 in Smart Materials requirement for roll cutting, and desktop-only cutting. We didn't find long-term reliability data from independent sources.

How it compares

The CAMEO PRO MK-II is the 24-inch Silhouette alternative. The CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus is a smaller 15-inch middle ground.

Specs side by side. Values are manufacturer claims unless marked otherwise.
SpecCricut VentureSilhouette CAMEO PRO MK-IISilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus
CraftGearGuide editorial score7.5/10Not scoredNot scored
Max cut width (matless)About 24 in usable on 25 in Smart Materials (13 in rolls also fit)23.6 in with lined material (roll feeder)Up to 15 in (14.6 in listed operating width)
Max length (matless)12 ft single image; up to 75 ft of repeated imagesUnresolved: 192 in (16 ft) with lined material in the spec table; 60 ft listed as maximum cutting length16 ft (Silhouette's maximum cutting length)
Max cut area on mat23.75 x 27.75 in (24 x 28 mat); 23.75 x 11.75 in (12 x 24 mat), per Jennifer Maker; mats sold separately23.2 x 24 in14.6 x 15 in guaranteed operating area
Print-then-cut max (US Letter)9.94 x 7.44 in (larger sheets supported; see review)Not stated by Silhouette (registration-mark reading supported)Not stated by Silhouette (uses four-point registration marks)
Max material thicknessNot stated by Cricut3 mm3 mm
Tools7 compatible2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment2 plunger tool mounts; automatic blade adjustment
ConnectivityBluetooth; USB cables includedUSB 2.0 and BluetoothUSB 2.0 and Bluetooth
SubscriptionNot required to cut; paid Cricut Access unlocks the full library and some featuresNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgradeNone required; SVG and PDF import needs the paid Designer Edition upgrade
Size (W x D x H)34.82 x 8.81 x 10.4 in (Cricut lists 8.81 x 34.82 x 10.4 in)34.49 x 7.68 x 6.69 in25.28 x 6.94 x 4.89 in
Weight34.7 lb19.84 lb12.7 lb
LinksCheck price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO PRO MK-II reviewCheck price on AmazonSilhouette CAMEO 5 Alpha Plus review

Questions

Can the Cricut Venture cut from an iPad?
No. Cricut calls Design Space for the Venture desktop-only, and Jennifer Maker confirms you must cut from the Mac or Windows app.
What's the biggest print then cut on the Venture?
Cricut's product page says up to 24 x 28 in, while its help center lists a maximum of 26.94 x 22.94 in on the largest supported paper. Both are far larger than Letter. Check the help center for your exact paper size.
Does the Venture use regular Cricut mats?
It uses Performance Machine Mats in 12 x 24 in and 24 x 28 in, which Jennifer Maker says are designed for the Venture. They aren't listed in the machine-only box.
Is the Venture loud?
Jennifer Maker found it fairly quiet in her use. We haven't seen a measured noise level.

Bottom line

If you're outgrowing a 12-inch machine and already work in Design Space on a computer, the Venture is the fastest-claimed way to stay with Cricut at 24 inches. If you'd rather use any brand of roll vinyl, or need to save space, look at the Silhouette options first.

Sources